Writer of the Year

Judged by
Glenda Cooper, Senior Lecturer at City, University of London
Professor Simon Heffer, Columnist, Daily and Sunday Telegraph, and Professor of Modern British History at the University of Buckingham
Liz Hunt, Assistant Editor (Features & Comment), The Daily Mail

Sponsored by

Joint Winner

Taipei European School
'On Government - Is it Time for democracy to Retire?' by Enzo Wu

The judges said that Enzo’s piece was ‘superbly written, intelligently argued, thoughtful and an original idea’

Joint Winner

The Ecclesbourne School
'Skin Deep' by Hannah Copley

Of Hannah’s piece the judges said, ‘an imaginative and compelling piece of fiction which plays with our idea of what humanity is.’

Highly Commended

King's High School, Warwick
Morbid Curiosity by Madeleine Critchlow,

Highly Commended

Jai Elangovan, Merchant Taylors' School
The Adyar River Flood by Madeleine Critchlow

Latest Tweets

Shine School Media Awards @shinemediawards - Jun 21
A correction to our earlier tweet: The Shine School Media Award 2021 for Best Photograph goes to the highly talented Beth Slattery @TarporleyHigh #ShineSMA21 https://t.co/R65w7Le4xa

james edward ringer @stingerginger66 - Jun 21
RT @stingerginger66: Couldn’t be prouder of the @SOLOFOXCOMICS the creator of The Amazing Shark Man ! Winner of the Harrison Cup @shinemedi…

The Wall Magazine @IPSTheWall - Jun 21
RT @IPSTheWall: Thank you @shinemediawards for this prestigious award and for giving us the opportunity to express the voices of Young Mind…