Shine news

Shine 2019: our shortlisted schools

Following judging day on Monday 20th May, we’re delighted to announced the list of schools who are shortlisted for the 2019 Shine School Media Awards.

The judges and committee were overwhelmed by the standard of entries this year. As ever the themes tackled journalistically chimed with the topics at the cutting edge of the national and international news agenda.

Creatively the photography, illustration and use of new media on show in 2019 offered us extraordinary levels of innovation.

Additionally, the stories we’ve heard of leadership, learning or personal barriers overcome – all by determination and sheer hard work – were truly inspiring.

We’re now looking forward to welcoming our shortlisted schools to Stationers Hall on Monday 1st July for this year’s awards.

Shine has had some truly remarkable entries this year and this list reflects the huge diversity of students who have worked so hard, from all over the country. Here is the shortlist:

  • Altrincham Grammar School for Boys
  • Bablake School
  • Banbridge High School
  • Bromsgrove School
  • City of London School
  • City of Norwich School
  • Coal Clough Academy
  • De Aston School
  • Drapers’ Academy
  • Ermysted’s Grammar School
  • Heathfield Community College
  • Ibstock Place School
  • Kings High School
  • Kingsbridge Community College
  • Latymer Upper School
  • Merchant Taylors’ School
  • Osborne School
  • Plymouth School of Creative Arts
  • Putney High School
  • Queen Elizabeth Grammar School
  • Royal Russell School
  • Stationers Crown Woods Academy
  • St Joseph’s College
  • St Paul’s Girls’ School
  • St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School
  • Stockport Academy
  • Tarporley High School and Sixth Form College
  • The Axholme Academy
  • The Blackpool Sixth Form College
  • The Heights Free School
  • The Marlborough Science Academy
  • Trinity School
  • Whitgift School


For more information about the Shine School Media Awards or press enquiries please email us at

Latest Tweets

Young Writers @YoungWritersCW - Jan 23
RT @YoungWritersCW: Get your school involved in the Shine School Media Awards! @shinemediawards Throw the spotlight on your school magazi…

Shine School Media Awards @shinemediawards - Jan 23
We were incredibly proud to see the first of our ‘Shine alumni’, @Bill_Bowkett admitted to the Freedom of the Stationers’ Company today. Congratulations Bill! @YoungStationers @stationerscomms

Bill Bowkett @Bill_Bowkett - Oct 22
RT @Bill_Bowkett: On Monday, I was invited to give a keynote speech the @shinemediawards Alumni launch at @StationersHall to discuss my for…